top of page


Groundwater Management Area 9 (GMA-9) was established in 2002 and includes all or part of 9 counties in the Texas Hill Country. The Texas Water Development Board created 16 Groundwater Management Areas across Texas, each with a number of groundwater conservation districts (GCDs) included in their boundaries.  

GMA-9 Overview

GMA-9 member districts meet at least annually to conduct joint planning with the other districts in the management area and to review the management plans, the accomplishments of the management area, and proposals to adopt new or amend existing desired future conditions. The GMA 9 Committee consists of 9 GCDs, each with its own designated representatives serving as a voting member.

District Designated Representatives

  • Cow Creek Groundwater Conservation District, Chair, Micah Voulgaris,

  • Trinity Glen Rose Groundwater Conservation District, Vice Chair, Amanda Maloukis 

  • Bandera County River Authority and Groundwater District, Secretary, Hayli Hernandez, Designated Representative - David Mauk

  • Blanco-Pedernales Groundwater Conservation District, Ron Fieseler

  • Comal Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, Allan Brown

  • Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, Charlie Flatten

  • Headwaters Groundwater Conservation District, Monica Thibodeaux

  • Medina County Groundwater Conservation District, David Caldwell

  • Southwestern Travis County Groundwater Conservation District, Lane Cockrell

  • Alternative Representatives:

    • Bandera County River Authority and Groundwater District, Hayli Hernandez

    • Headwater GCD, Gene Williams

Subcommittees and Regional Water
Planning Group Representatives

  • Subcommittees

    • Public Outreach

    • Technical

    • Management Plan and Rules

    • Regional Planning Group

  • Regional Water Planning Group Representatives

    • Region J:  Hayli Hernandez, Bandera County River Authority & Groundwater District

    • Region K: Paul Pabb, Blanco Pedernales Groundwater Conservation District

    • Region L: Curt Campbell, Cow Creek Groundwater Conservation District

bottom of page